The Tale of Narrow Ridge (The Breath of Ahhh)

Body, mind, and soul. The human trinity unites through flesh and bones, thoughts and emotions, and an empty internal being. But are these three really united? I couldn’t help thinking mine weren’t. When was I really conscious of the speed of blood pumping in my veins, or the feel of wet skin when I worship in an overheating car, or the tight neck pain I ignore when I’m focused on the book in my hand? Often I am completely disconnected from the very parts of myself that make me, me. With this mindful thought, how do I unite my human trinity? Was I once truly conscious of this? Reflecting on the behaviors of children, they live oblivious to the complete organic function of knowing when to express their inner-self on the bases of their physicality, heart, and spirit. I was able to find this natural child-like functionality, where I am conscious of every part of me within the connection of yoga practice.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

– We tend to pass through most things that manage to catch our breath at first glimpse… almost as if our brains were wired to be stimulated for seconds until the climax of entertainment fades. But rarely do we question the depth of our intake or taste its realms to the fullest.

June 5, 2018

Day 3

Part. I

 I slept through the whole album of After All These Years (Instrumental)- Bethel and woke up with the sound of loud females getting ready at 7am in the morning. We hustle our O.T.G (Outfit-of-the-day) and slapped on sunscreen with a few layers of mascara for that natural look.  The food bell rung as we gather around in a circle. This routine became one of my favorites. Back home, my family would gather before dinner and pray. Prayer is sweet and full filling before a meal until it becomes long, repetitive, and unsentimental….in other words reglious. Things are different here. No prayer, just an open monologue reflection of what we are grateful for. Each person lists a thing or two and each time I surrender my restrainment from smiling. Maria especially always makes me smile, her comments are always heartfelt. We filled our bellies with warm oatmeal, strawberries, bananas, apples, and sweet tea. After breakfast, Mitzi announced we going to practice yoga with Angela Gibson.

Oh boy, yoga Part 2? I was excited about trying this again. To my surprise, Angela was completely humble and welcoming. She made me feel completely at ease. I realized from the start, yoga practice in this environment was not about who could perform the best position or who is the most flexible. There was no competition here, everyone was solely focused on themselves. We closed our eyes and followed the warm voice Angela lead. I listened to the birds sing with the wind, and let my heartbeat join their chorus. The sun beat followed, drumming her hot affection for the dew green trees. I let my muscles release their tension with every breath, pull, stretch, and shift. It felt like a slow dance, where I allowed each movement flow with the next. We let our hands pick stars over our heads then sprinkle in a circular motion until our fingertips met and we palmed kissed, centering our hands to our hearts. After a moment we breathed in and released a breath of ahhb r e a t h e d in and released a breath of aahh, b r e a t h e d in and r e l e a s e d a breath of aaahhh. 

Everyone opened their eyes and gifted one another with a peaceful smile. The kind that comes naturally when every worry melts and the only thing on your mind is what is right in front of you. We rolled our mats, placing them neatly on the outside cabin portch. The labyrinth sight was next….in all honesty I did not-

Join my life’s metamorphosis story, Every Thursday @4pm!

Image result for neon butterfly gif

Yahweh(Spontaneous)- Amanda Cook & Steffany Gretzinger | Bethel Music

 

Published by

dayydreammer

Hey, I'm a 21-year-old college student who's life completely flipped after one amazing experience (Narrow Ridge). This blog is dedicated to sharing my transformation story -or what I like to call it- my metamorphous story. Weekly posts Every Thursday @4pm!

Leave a comment